VIP – Volunteers in Process

Click here for a form to guide you through this process.

Click here for Background Check Information required for all registered volunteers.

After Orientation, Volunteers in the registration process should keep a few things in mind . .

 Step Two:  Group Evaluation.
After attending Orientation, this workshop for you and your pet determines whether or not you and your pet are ready for visiting or if more training or socialization are needed. During this group evaluation, you and your dog will be asked to demonstrate basic obedience skills: sit, stay, down and walking on a loose lead. We also observe how the pet reacts to crowds, other dogs, rough petting, loud noises, wheel chairs or walkers, etc. Our trained evaluators will provide guidance in specific areas, if necessary.

The Group Evaluation is  a one-time session . If you think your dog or you would like additional training and practice before the Group Evaluation, we work with several trainers in several areas who conduct classes to prepare you .
If for some reason, an issue cannot be resolved during the group evaluation, the evaluator will make suggestions on what needs to be worked on. Feel free to practice their suggestions, and try again at a later date.

Click here for dates/ times/ locations and the Group Evaluation Registration Form

Click here and go to the bottom of the page to find classes to prepare you and your dog.

Click here for guidelines regarding dogs who will be volunteering with more than one handler.

 

Step Three:  Two Onsite Visit Evaluations by a KPETS Evaluator after completing a successful Workshop.  Two different evaluators will be used for each observed visit.  Please contact the evaluators directly to set up your onsite evaluation visits.

Here’s a list of KPETS Evaluators and their contact information: 

 When corresponding by email, please include “KPETS on-site visit evaluation” in the subject line of your email. Our evaluators are all volunteers and will respond to you as time allows. Please be patient or try calling, as well. Thank you!

 Adams County:
          Pam Miller  717-359-5756  pmiller0571@yahoo.com

Berks County:
          Patrick Emmett  610-207-3879 or training@difk9.com

Chester County:
         Sandy Boyko 610-357-4851 or sandyboyko@prodigy.net

Dauphin County:
          Cecelia Ulrich  717- 877- 1866  or gldpaw@verizon.net

Lancaster County Area:

Terri Wilner  717-290-7449 or terriw@kpets.org
Joni Soost  717-449-4815 or jonis@kpets.org
Nancy Houston 717- 371-0803 or nancyh@kpets.org
Jolene Newcomer 717-733-4024 or jolenen@kpets.org
Wendy McKelvy  717-575-1278 or wmckelvy@embarqmail.com
Monique Stein 717-725-3981 or zoeyque@gmail.com
Karen Sage 717-682-1842 or karens@kpets.org

Lebanon County:
         Bill Simpson –  717-421-6991 or bills@kpets.org
          Lauren Krall- 717-475-1506 or  laurenk@kpets.org

York Area: 

Dave Dusthimer  (717) 891-8020  ddusthimer@gmail.com
Fran Holt 717-292-5743 or franh@kpets.org
Harriet Hombach 717-266-2163 or Harrieth@kpets.org
Lisa Baublitz 443-375-2788 or lisab@kpets.org

Westminster, MD Area:

Sharon Schwemmer 410-239-3752 or  swschwemmer@verizon.net
Karen Durilla 301-703-4087 or ponyexpressmessenger@gmail.com
Dotty Whittle 410-552-0899 or  jaywhittle@comcast.net
Dee Muskin 410-596-4183 or dede4761@gmail.com